AFC Annual Awards 2016 takes place in Abu Dhabi

The Asian Football Confederation’s (AFC) Annual Awards 2016 attracts a star-studded line-up to celebrate Asian football in the United Arab Emirates capital of Abu Dhabi to honour the pinnacle of the continent’s achievements on Thursday, reports the 

After another captivating and memorable year, both on and off the field, the eagerly anticipated extravaganza will kick off at the Emirates Palace Abu Dhabi, one of the world’s finest venues, at 18.00 (GMT +4).

AFC President Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa said: “Since the AFC Executive Committee’s announcement in March this year, the continent has been filled with excitement and anticipation for this year’s AFC Annual Awards.

“Together with our partners the Abu Dhabi Sports Council (ADSC) and the UAE FA, the AFC has been working tirelessly to stage the perfect show to celebrate our teams, players, coaches and Member Associations. All our nominees have displayed their dedication to improve football in Asia under the banner of One Asia, One Goal, and on behalf of the Asian football family, I wish them all good luck.”

The 2016 AFC Annual Awards will also mark a decade since the AFC Awards was first hosted in Abu Dhabi at the 2006 edition. With guest performances from a rising star, singer-songwriter Nathalie Saba, the UAE’s pop icon Aryam, as well as a gravity-defying act from the Aerialist Acrobatic Group, the stage is set for a breathtaking spectacle.

His Excellency Aref Hamad Al Awani, ADSC General Secretary said: “Abu Dhabi is ready to welcome and celebrate the best of Asia’s talent. We have spared no effort in staging this world-class event. We are extremely proud to have this honour and I am confident that Asia will remember the AFC Annual Awards 2016 for many years to come.”

The AFC Player of the Year and the AFC Women’s Player of the Year, as well as the AFC Dream Asia Award are just some of the headlining awards that will be handed out. The award categories are:

  • Diamond of Asia Award
  • Dream Asia Award
  • Member Association of the Year (Inspiring, Developing, Aspiring)
  • President Recognition Awards for Grassroots Football (Inspiring, Developing, Aspiring)
  • Coach of the Year (men and women)
  • Player of the Year (men and women)


You must be logged in to commet!