DPR Korea won FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup

DPR Korea came from behind to sensationally secure a 3-1 win over France and claim the 2016 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup title at the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby on Saturday. It was reported by the-AFC.com.

Grace Geyoro had put France ahead early on, but subsequent goals from Wi Jong-sim and Kim Phyong-hwa, as well as Jon So-yon’s last gasp penalty saw DPR Korea crowned champions of the competition for a second time following their 2006 triumph.

An electric atmosphere was created by the capacity crowd and the players responded in kind with a fascinating contest.

Indeed, the match proved to be a contest of fine margins at times with several last-gasp tackles and blocks amid action at both ends of the pitch

An early goal for France perhaps helped ensure the match was an open affair. Maelle Garbino whipped in a dipping free-kick from the touchline and goalkeeper Kim Myong Sun could only fumble the ball into the path of midfielder Geyoro who swept the ball home.

Buoyed by the goal, France swept forward and Clara Mateo was blocked in the nick of time by Kim Myong-sun as she bore down on goal.

DPR Korea, however, levelled on the half-hour mark, the impressive Wi Jong-sim flicking the ball home at the near-post, following a fine left-sided run and cross from Kim Phyong-hwa.

Eight minutes after the break DPR Korea had a golden chance to take the lead. Kim So-hyang burst down the right following a sharp exchange of passes and her low cross was met at the far post by Kim Phyong-hwa, but the number eleven somehow pushed her close-range effort wide.

More drama was to follow though, as within a matter of minutes Kim Phyong-hwa headed home from an almost identical position after Wi Jong-sim deflected the ball into her path from a free-kick.

A late Jon So-yon penalty added further gloss to the scoreline as DPR Korea were duly crowned champions of a FIFA women’s tournament for the second time within a matter of weeks following the country’s recent FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup triumph in Jordan.

Source: FIFA.com
Photos: FIFA / Getty Images


You must be logged in to commet!