Omar Khrbin and Samantha Kerr land AFC Awards

Omar Khrbin and Samantha Kerr have been named as the top players in Asia at the glittering AFC Annual Awards held in Bangkok tonight.

After a historic 2017 which saw five AFC teams qualify for the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018, the Asian Football Confederation celebrated the best of the Continent’s football in a grand ceremony hosted by FA Thailand.

AFC Women’s Player of the Year 2017 Kerr enjoyed a year to remember with both American National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) outfit Sky Blue FC and Australia. Named the NWSL’s Most Valuable Player after scoring 17 times for her club team, Kerr also scored four goals to help the Matildas overcome Brazil, the United States and Japan to claim the 2017 Tournament of Nations title.

AFC Player of the Year 2017 Khrbin has performed heroics for both Syria and Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal this year.

Syria only exited the FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Asian Qualifiers following a play-off defeat to Australia, while Khrbin’s 10 goals – including a hat-trick against Persepolis in the semi-finals – helped Al Hilal reach the AFC Champions League final.

The winners of the AFC Annual Awards 2017 are:

AFC Diamond of Asia: Yousuf Al Serkal (UAE)

AFC Dream Asia Award: Japan Football Association

AFC Member Association of the Year

Inspiring: Football Federation Islamic Republic of Iran

Developing: Vietnam Football Federation

Aspiring: Afghanistan Football Federation

AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots Football

Inspiring Member Association: Chinese Football Association

Developing Member Association: Football Association of Singapore

Aspiring Member Association: Bhutan Football Federation

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Aliasghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

AFC Coach of the Year

Women: Asako Takakura (JPN)

Men: Takafumi Hori (JPN)

AFC Women’s Player of the Year: Samantha Kerr (AUS)

AFC Player of the Year: Omar Khrbin (SYR)

Awards not presented in Bangkok:

AFC Referees Special Award: Bakhtiyor Namazov (UZB)

AFC Youth Player of the Year

Women: Sung Hyang-sim (PRK)

Men: Lee Seung-woo (KOR)

AFC Asian International Player of the Year: Son Heung-min (KOR)

Source: AFC


You must be logged in to commet!