Asia’s best honoured in spectacular ceremony in Muscat

Al Sadd’s Abdelkarim Hassan claimed the coveted AFC Player of the Year Award while China PR’s Wang Shuang clinched the top accolade in the women’s category.

Kashima Antlers’ Go Oiwa who guided his side to their maiden AFC Champions League title earlier this month was duly rewarded with the 2018 AFC Men’s Coach of the Year award, while AFC Women’s Asian Cup Jordan 2018 winning coach Asako Takakura confirmed her legendary status in women’s football with her sixth AFC Women’s Coach of the Year award.

Islamic Republic of Iran’s status as a global force in world futsal was further underlined after Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh, who was part of the IR Iran side which finished third in the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup, landed his fourth AFC Futsal Player of the Year accolade.

Former AFC Acting President Zhang Jilong was bestowed with the Continent’s highest accolade – the AFC Diamond of Asia Award – in recognition for his incredible service and leadership over the last four decades to Chinese and Asian football.

AFC Annual Awards 2018 Roll of Honour

AFC Diamond of Asia: Zhang Jilong (CHI)

AFC President’s Special Recognition Award:

Futoshi Ikeda (JPN)

Wild Boars FC (THA)

AFC Member Association of the Year:

Inspiring: Japan Football Association

Developing: DPR Korea Football Association

Aspiring: Mongolian Football Federation

AFC President Recognition Award for Grassroots Football:

Inspiring Member Association: Chinese Football Association

Developing Member Association: Football Association of Singapore

Aspiring Member Association: Palestine Football Association

AFC Futsal Player of the Year: Ali Asghar Hasanzadeh (IRN)

AFC Coach of the Year:

Women: Asako Takakura (JPN)

Men: Go Oiwa (JPN)

AFC Women’s Player of the Year: Wang Shuang (CHI)

AFC Player of the Year: Abdelkarim Hassan (QAT)


Awards not presented in Muscat:

AFC Referees Special Award:

Alireza Faghani (IRN)

Reza Sokhandan (IRN)

Mohammadreza Mansouri (IRN)

AFC Youth Player of the Year:

Women: Saori Takarada (JPN)

Men: Turki Al Amar (KSA)

AFC Asian International Player of the Year: Makoto Hasebe (Eintracht Frankfurt and JPN)