AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 in numbers

While Asia's biggest teams took their customary place in the glittering draw in Dubai last May, there are several national sides who will be making their debuts in the Finals or returning to the Continental showpiece after having missed out on several editions.

The January 5-February 1 extravaganza promises to be a sizzling affair and offers some revealing statistics from the competition's past and present.

Competing Teams


The expanded AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 will see 24 teams vying for honours in the January 5-February 1 extravaganza.

Prize Money & New Trophy


There will be prize money at stake - USD$14.8 million - for the first time in the AFC Asian Cup. The champions, when crowned on February 1, will also lift a brand new AFC Asian Cup trophy.


Zayed Sports City Stadium (Abu Dhabi)


Mohammed bin Zayed Stadium (Abu Dhabi)


Al Nahyan Stadium (Abu Dhabi)


Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum Stadium (Dubai)


Al-Maktoum Stadium (Dubai)


Sharjah Stadium (Sharjah)


Sheikh Khalifa International Stadium (Al Ain)


Hazza bin Zayed Stadium (Al Ain)